strumming question/how to learn to play a song

annod

Reaction score
Hi all,

A newbie here. My question may seem really basic, but I can't seem to figure out:

When I try to learn to strum the chords for a song like this, how would I know how many times I strum for each chord?
http://www.ukemaker.com/images/DownByTheRiverside.jpg

For example, let's say this is 4/4. I don't know many beats/bars is the first G etc.

Help please?

Thanks a bunch.

-Donna

There's a lot to learning to play the uke to accompany oneself (or others) singing a song.

One thing that gets missed a lot is the timing, esp if there's a gap of silence (ie, no singing) while the beat keeps going.

If you are comfortable singing a song properly, that is to say -following every beat of every measure and not skipping any, then you should be able to figure out how long to hold/strum a chord before changing to the next one. some songbooks work that out for you in various ways, like having strum slashes to let you know how many times to strum a given chord.

Perhaps you could write out those slashes on your song sheet to assist you, or have someone else do it for you. I don't indicate how many times to strum between chords on my song sheets since I trust that those using them have the timing down for themselves.

Like I said, timing is something many of us take for granted. Also, some of us will strum 4 times (down) to a measure in a 4/4 song. While others may strum 8 times (up and down). Others will use a syncopated strum (uneven) so it may be difficult to write out what it's supposed to sound like.

The main thing is that according to the written standard notation, there are a certain number of beats in each measure and they should all be sounded or the song will sound truncated is beats are missed, or extended if extra strums are inserted.