strap or no strap, that is the question

brucemoffatt

Reaction score
Hi, Bruce here in Adelaide, South Australia.

I'm new to uke and loving learning. I have a problem though and I'd like to draw from the well of wisdom of the community. I have a lot of trouble holding the uke firmly enough to change chords without it slipping down, and I wondered whether I should get a shoulder strap. I did a search on the forums, and there's some good info there, but I wondered if this is a common beginner question and if so is there a common answer :)

Thanks in advance.

My uke is a Makala MK-SN and I love it heaps.

Welcome to the UU!! I also had that problem and wanted a strap. But I was told by some others here at UU that it just takes practice and you will have no problem. Try to hold the uke body like you would hold a football (USA Football) and hold the neck in the curve of your left hand right between the thumb and index finger. Just give it some time, don't fret it and have fun.

molokinirum's answer is a good one; hold it like a football. Press it against your body with your forearm - if you just use your wrist to strum instead of your entire arm it will be easier. Practice! After playing for a while I get an indentation on my forearm from holding my uke that way.

I picked up a "Uke Leash" at the Wine Country Festival, and it really works well for me. This "ukulele half-strap" quickly attaches to the headstock without any holes, marks or mars, and functions to hold up the head/neck while your left hand moves around the fret board. The body of the uke is supported conventionally by the right arm. My apology to all the lefties out there. Two word review: "It Works!" Check it out on "ukeleash.com". OBTY, it's not expensive.