Fun wood choices

rickmorgan2003

Reaction score
Some of you have seen my morado top with the turtle soundhole but I thought I would post some pics of the neck blank for it as well as the top/neckblank for the concert I am working on at the same time. I am totally new at the uke thing- don't even play yet but decided that since it's a whimsical instrument by nature that having a little fun with wood choices was appropriate. I went to the local exotic lumber place and just played with wood for an hour or so until I found the pieces that just called out to be a uke. I think they will sound fine, maybe not a high end koa, but better than the local music stores birch ply ones.neckblank closeup lacewood.jpglacewood top.jpgneck blanks both ukes.jpgneckblank soprano.jpg

The soprano will be morado all around with lace wood laminated up the middle of the neck. Not sure about the fingerboard yet- thought about doing a morado/lacewood just like the neck but still exploring that.
The concert will be lacewood all around with the neck middle laminate of purpleheart. The fingerboard, bindings and bridge will also be purpleheart.

Looking beautiful so far, thanks for the pics.

That's nice looking wood. I think almost any wood can give a nice tone. Maybe not "the traditional" tone but who says all ukes should sound the same anyway??

That's nice looking wood. I think almost any wood can give a nice tone. Maybe not "the traditional" tone but who says all ukes should sound the same anyway??

That's my thoughts. I believe you should use what you have available. Not to compare myself with the masters but Stratavari didn't go to the ends of the world to find wood, he went to the local source for spruce and maple, turns out that those woods were great and he was a master at using them. My guess, if he lived in south america at the time, he would have grab rosewood or something similar instead of maple and they would have sound awesome as well.