Buying a Kala

Iain

Reaction score
I made a thread a few months ago about buying a Kala ukulele and getting it shipped into the UK. I currently have a Lanikai LU-21 Soprano and I'd really like to step up to something bigger and with a different sound. I've been looking on eBay and I've narrowed it down to these two -
Tenor with case
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Brand-New-Kal...NameZWD2VQQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp1638Q2em122
Concert with case
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/KALA-BRAND-KA...ryZ16224QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
Has anyone had any experience with his guy? I'm willing to fork out the premium price if it can get me a quality ukulele as it will have to last me a few years. Both the ukuleles are from the same guy and I'm debating on whether to get a Tenor or a Concert. Which one would you say has the better sound or are they pretty similar? I'm a novice ukulele player (1 year) and I don't want to jump straight into something that I won't be able to play so which one do you think is the best choice?

Has anyone had any experience with his guy?

You're joking, right?

I hate to do the typical forum jerk move and say "search the forum first" but in this case, it's really applicable.

Mike is pretty widely respected throughout the board. A good number-- maybe even a majority?-- of forum members have used him and speak well of his work. There's a number of threads on this board attesting to the quality of the instruments he sells, the personal attention his customers receive, and his generally being a stand-up dude. He does an amazing job of setting up the instrument and not shipping out any crap. He's even a forum member and is sponsoring an upcoming contest.

Mike's good people. I've made maybe five purchases from him, with zero regrets. He's also got one of the best selections around, and is great about communicating with customers and making sure you get what you want.