harbor freight trim router and other power tools

UkeforJC

Reaction score
Dear all,
I have a couple questions about power tools. I have very little experience with wood working. So I need some help from you guys.

Has anyone has experience with the harbor freight trim router?
http://www.harborfreight.com/power-tools/routers/1-4-quarter-inch-trim-router-44914.html
Is this router good and useful for building a Stewmac kit?
By the way, can router generally be used as laminate trimmer? I am guessing that different router bits serve for different job. Is it correct?

Another question is. I am planning to get a power saw to cut laminate wood for making the Body assembly jig. (as instructed in Stewmac kit manual)
Is jig saw better or reciprocating saw better for this job.

If any of you can give me some advice on these power tools, that will be great.
Thank you for your input.

PMed ya about the router, my experience was good, did the job just fine and was very inexpensive. If you're going to build many many ukes, it may not last forever being a HF tool, but I think mine will last a few ukes at least, and probably longer since thats all I will use it for.

Just be careful with the body assembly jig...I know a few other people have posted that they had problems with the body wiggling around in it while building. I added a few dowels around the upper and lower bouts to help hold it still, but if you have the means, I would just build a proper building form to surround the entire body and keep it perfect the whole time. If not, then do like i did and add some other supports around the body! See my post to see what I mean...

Last edited: