Kamaka Pineapple Soprano 1970's

drumguy

Reaction score
Okay, this isn't mine. I have it in my hands though. I'm a drummer, and a gear-head. I have been obsessed with ukulele's for the past month or so. Haven't made a purchase yet, but have been hounding my guitar buddies to see if anyone has one laying around. Tonight at a rehearsal, our guitar player pulled this out from under a shelf in his garage. It's a Kamaka from the 1970's which was given to him by his mother inlaw.

He was trying to sell it, but didn't know what it was worth. I told him I'd hang onto it for a while and take it down to Elderly (I live in Michigan and a friend of mine works in the appraisals dept.). Anyone have any guesses? It's in really good shape. No cosmetic issues other than being 30 years old. It could use some polish and a new set of strings, but the body and neck look fine to me. It's remarkably clean.

Sorry for the blurry pics. I'm using my phone... And I've been drinking whiskey.

EDIT:

For the record, I have done a fair amount of internet research, and immediately recognized the wood type, and the brand name and tried very hard not to get visibly excited. I know that this is at least a fairly decent thing to find laying around. Despite being a drummer, I'm not a total dummy. I have been saving up some gig money and was gonna buy a tenor in the 150-250 range.

MobilePhotoOct42010104620PM.jpg

MobilePhotoOct42010104637PM.jpg

MobilePhotoOct42010104651PM.jpg

MobilePhotoOct42010104704PM.jpg

Last edited:
Hit him over the head with a pipe and steal it!! ;-)

New one is $720+ (with an MSRP from Kamaka of $695. Figure that one out. What are these? Harleys??) Some folks say the new ones are better than some of the ones that are not really old, like the '70s. Check out closed items in Ebay. I'll bet your are talking high $600s.

Aloha Drum Guy,
Welcome to the UU and our forums...and the ukulele....with ukes and anything else, it's condition and sound...and this one looks in great