Electric capable ukuleles...

DigableKid

Reaction score
I can answer this by going to a store and listening to one...but I figured I 'd ask the pros. Do ukuleles with electric pickups sound as sweet as a one without. I mean are they only meant to be played with an amp or can I play one without and still have it play at it's highest quality sound?

Thanks gang,
Digable

I'm still new to ukulele's, but I have a Kala Mahagony Soprano (KA-S), which is an acoustic ukulele. It sounds awesome, but I recently went out and got a Markley stick-on pickup. It works pretty good, and I can put my Ukulele through an amp/effects now, but my only qualm is storing this thing, it leaves a residue on the ukulele, which takes a minute to remove, and it' more like a microphone than a pickup. If you tap the cord to the pickup, it goes over the amp, as well as any tapping/brushing of the ukulele body. Good if you can hold your ukulele without it moving, which I can't yet :p

It depends on the uke I guess. It's my understanding that the best steel string electric ukes are made by Risa, who also makes two other models of passive-pickup nylon string electric-only ukes.

Then there's the very popular Bugsgear Eleuke, which I believe has an active pickup and the pictures clearly show tone and volume controls.

There's a new one made by Koolau, and then there's the Pete Howlett Uklectic.

Of all those, I've had the Risa uke-solid concert, which had an almost-too-easy-to-drive pickup but otherwise no complaints about it. I've played the the Eleuke, but I just didn't find it much to cheer for.. probably because I was sitting opposite the guy who built the Uklectic I was just about to buy.