Playing AND singing ... or not in my case...

agroupuk

Reaction score
Hey all.

Ok to start at the beggining......

I play Bass Guitar (not well, I am still learning) and bass players nearly always dont sing. Mainly because you are in the same 'section' as the drums. Its pretty hard to sing and keep a strict tempo. Most dont for this reason.

Anyway..

I am learning to play a Uke right now as well as bass (though not together - that would be awsome lol) and have been practicing the Foo Fighter's 'Times Like These'
I know the song and can strum it pretty well but the moment I open my mouth.... well a song should come out but what seems to come out is off key and out of tempo and I think its possible that all the timing in my hands is also leaking out of my mouth at the same time.

How do people learn to sing and play at the same time?

Do you learn the song till you can do it in your sleep first THEN try singing over it or do you start putting the singing and strumming together at the same time as you learn the tune?

Any help apreciated. (and btw I can usually sing, I was church and school soloist until puberty took away my young angelic voice and replaced it with gravel)

Cheers

Edd

Well the way I did it with Guitar and the same should apply for Uke, is I just constantly play a song over and over until I don't need to pay attention to what I'm doing for it to come out the same. Then just add the vocals. It's pretty easy!

The best way to start getting the hang of singing and strumming is to make it so the strumming is 2nd nature. Once you can do the strumming without thinking you can start start humming the song along with playing or add in words in places you feel comfortable.

You're right except for Sting and Paul McCartney, bass players usually don't sing.