Experiment - Can You Guess The Uke?

joeybug

Reaction score
Hi Everyone :D

In the thread where I got Rhea, ADD suggested I do a little experiment. Basically, he wanted to hear whether he could tell the difference between each of my Ukes if they played the sang piece of music. I took up his challenge and this is the outcome.

Some basics:

Astrid - cheap Ukulele with Aquila strings
Lilo - Ohana SK10S with Aquila strings
Rhea - Luna Tattoo Pineapple with Aquila strings

The music I chose was the first verse of Amazing Grace, I sang it quietly so that you could hear the Ukulele playing, but I couldn't keep the right time unless I sang it, so that may effect the sound of the Uke. I strummed all three with my fingers so as not to distort the sound they gave off and I tuned them all before I started playing. Also all three are Soprono Ukuleles.

So, which one is which?

Can you tell?

Good Luck!

Joey

Aloha Joey,
Your playing sounds great and your voice is so beautiful.....enjoyed it very much.....I've made up my mind, but won't mention it till later too!!
Let's just say it's different from Lexxy's choices.... I also think Astrid held up against the other two too!!!!Thanks, MM Stan...

Last edited:
Oh my, I thought for sure I would know Astrid, being the "cheap" flashy girl that she is. My hats off to Astrid cause she held her own with those other two. I am going to refrain from guessing because I just don't feel confident in my abilities. However I will say I thought the third ukulele was the most lovely on the three.

Oh my, I thought for sure I would know Astrid, being the "cheap" flashy girl that she is. My hats off to Astrid cause she held her own with those other two. I am going to refrain from guessing because I just don't feel confident in my abilities. However I will say I thought the third ukulele was the most lovely on the three.

It just goes to show how good Aquila strings can make even the cheapest Uke sound...