Dings on a new flea - should I take it back?

jumpin

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a newbie to these forums, so hello!

Just getting into uke-ing, and upgraded at the weekend from my crappy Makela to a Flea.

The sound of the Flea is lovely, but has a few cosmetic blemishes.

In particular, the paint is already starting to scratch off around the edge of the soundboard. Is this normal, or should I take the Flea back?

I was sort of expecting the Flea would be more resilient given some of the reviews on here, and it bugs my that my new lovely uke isn't perfect!

Anyway, the sound is lovely, so maybe I should just shut my eyes to these things and enjoy the music...

Hi Jumpin and welcome to the UU

I don't have a Flea but if it's blemishes are bugging you now they are gonna bug you for ages. Take it back, the manufacturer has a good reputation and will probably cause you no grief about rectifying the problem. I had the impression they were bomb proof so it may be just a bad'n.

Cheers

Thanks for the advice.

Can any Flea owners tell me whether the paint on their soundboard scratched off easily? In my case the paint came off under my fingernail, when cleaning out a bit of dust between the soundboard and the body of the uke.

Aloha Jumpin,
Welcome to the UU and the forums....and the ukulele...congrats on the purchase of the new uke....As for the paint, maybe it was just painted recently....I've had a tenor fluke and
in several months showed wear from strumming, but not as bad as yours...If you like the sound of yours keep it, but do contact(phone) them and let them know your concerns with
the paint...maybe they'll give you some money back...but keep your uke if it sounds good to you, as you never know what the next ones gonna sound like..MM Stan..

Can any Flea owners tell me whether the paint on their soundboard scratched off easily?

The paint on my Flea has never scratched off.

JJ

I just did a quick google, and the Flea in this picture here: