ever use your table saw to do this?

No offense intended, but did you ever just look at something and feel in your gut that it was wrong, but had a hard time explaining why?

As a woodworker, I would be concerned about losing my grip holding the next firmly to the back of the sled and having the heel fall into the spinning blade. It is one thing if it is a solid block being fed into the blade, but there is nothing that I can see that is keeping the neck firmly on edge during the process.

But then again, it is your head and hands, so it is your call.

Best of luck.

it's actually quite safe, my hands don't get within 6" of the blade and the sled is clamped to the table. The necks sits on its reference edge and you nibble away at the heel (about 2 inches up the neck) until you get the desired result.

the neck itself has a wider footprint with the headstock angle adding to the stability against the sled. All surfaces are jointed, and if you don't take more than the saw tooth can handle...(about 1/8") it's smooth operating.

and the result is good...

100_0984.jpg

I saw Bill Cumpiano explain that method on his website, here... http://www.cumpiano.com/classicneckblank/classicneckb.htm

I'm a big fan of Bill and his methods which keep changing. Few luthiers share to the degree he does. However I would like to point out that Bill is using what I believe would be called a spanish heel which means he has a large uncut block of wood at the end of the neck (will be come the heel block) that prevents the neck blank from rotating into the blade. That is not the case in the photos from the OP.

That is exactly what I was referring to in my post when I referred to a solid block. Maybe a safer alternative would be to bill the heel as a spanish heel and then cut off the neck block piece after the heel has been milled. Just my 2cents FWIW.

TWC