Fat Fingers

Shaguarinho

Reaction score
Hey all, I am new to playing the ukulele and I am finding it difficult to play some chords because I can't bar a fret or when I can bar it, I am touching the other strings. For example, an E chord. I put my index finger on the A string 2nd fret and my middle finger on the G,C, and A strings 4th fret. My middle finger always ends up touching the A string and ruining the sound of the chord. Any help?

Hey Shaguarinho!

Welcome to the forum! Try out these two links for this problem -- though we're a relatively young forum, you'll find that our forum search tool will unlock answers to this and many other questions you'll certainly run into. Have fun!

Big Fingers

D-Chord Help

E Chord

Welcome to the forum. Funny thing about the E chord, if you are from a guitar background you know that E is one of the most common chords. Blues seem to always be in E or A. There are 8.4 gatrillion rock-n-roll song written in E. But on the uke.....argh. E is pretty much the worst. E7 is easily played, but that E chord doesn't really get easier. You can move your little finger up to the 7th fret (still barring the 4th fret) if that's not too high. Or you can bar at the 4th and just play the top three strings....or bend that finger just a tad more....

You can move your little finger up to the 7th fret (still barring the 4th fret) if that's not too high. Or you can bar at the 4th and just play the top three strings....or bend that finger just a tad more....

those are great alternatives. i do those as well because i have trouble getting a nice clean E the normal way.