Resawn Spaulted Paduak, Feedback Please

agilitydog

Reaction score
I have just tried my first resawing (on a table saw, no band saw available) on this piece of quartersawn spaulted paduak. The spaulted pattern became very much more uniform after the cut (pictured). The pieces shown are about 6.5"x 24.5"x.145" each. This wood is so pretty I thought I'd ask for input from anyone who has experience with backs of this type. I'm new to this; it was supposed to be a "get to know your wood and skills" exercise. Thoughts? Thanks, in advance.

Attachments

• paduak2.jpg
    paduak2.jpg
    55.6 KB · Views: 119
  • paduak1.JPG
    paduak1.JPG
    85.3 KB · Views: 93
That's looks great to me...Pity it wasn't resawn on the Bandsaw, You could have got more like it.

The only trouble I see is that the really beautiful spalting is so low on the boards you might lose most of it when you cut the back shape out of it. Awefully pretty wood. If it looks like you can't capture it with a Uke, conside another use for it that will let you highlight the whole pattern.

Sure is beautiful. I wonder what a pineapple would look like? Might use more of the spalting.

This may be the male in me talking, but all I can see in the spalting is a woman in a bikini top.

Thoughts?

You asked. . . cutting wood on a tablesaw is not "resawing" per se. No piece of wood is worth a finger (or more).

The grain doesn't look quartered, but if it is, then it looks like it has runout, add that to the mold, Chuck has it right with the CA. Can you say, "Let's move (groove) tonight. . ."

I wonder the the bottom looks like. . . if this was BRW, probably not a whole lot there at all . . . (are we still talking about wood?).