Stew Mac Tenor - Can I radius the fretboard?

icuker

Reaction score
If I were to buy the StewMac tenor kit, would it be thick enough to do a radius fretboard, or should I buy a guitar fretboard and cut it down to size?

Also, I searched on radius fretboards and most said they didn't think it mattered much. I know mileage may vary, but I had a Mya Moe Uke in my hands for a few days and absolutely loved it. It was radius'd and maybe a bit wider than the StewMac would be, not sure about the second part.

Did I like it mostly because of the radius or because it had nice action? Also, on a Tenor what would my radius be and how do I set up a sanding block to create the radius? I am a beginner in these things.

Thanks in advance.

I'd contact Stew Mac and see how thick the fret board is that they sell in their kits. Someone else familiar with the kits could tell you. You may indeed have to buy a thicker fret board. Although the crown of the radius will probably be no more than 1/32" tall, you'll need the board to be about 1/16" thicker to allow for the sanding you'll do. You'll also need a radius sanding block and a radius fret pressing tool. All sold by Stew Mac. Could get expensive but they'll love you. It's extremely important that the thickness be ven through the length of the fret board, something that takes a bit of practiced skill when radiusing by hand.
In my business I encounter very few people who want a radiused fret board. A 16" radius (which is common on a tenor uke) is barely noticeable on a narrow ukulele fret board. Guitar players who are used to them on their instruments seem to want them.

If I were to buy the StewMac tenor kit, would it be thick enough to do a radius fretboard, or should I buy a guitar fretboard and cut it down to size?