Teaching for the First Time

lindydanny

Reaction score
After doing a lot of thinking about it (and wanting to find a small supplemental income), I'm going to start taking a hard look at teaching ukulele. I've got at least a couple things going for me:

1. I can actually play one (more than just a few chords)
2. I would be one of the few in my area of KC.
3. There is a local store that sells better than average ukes (Kalas and Lanikais)
4. I've taught some guitar lessons before (experience)
5. I've got a lot of background music experience (I can read notation; not just tab)

Before I advertise and get myself hip deep, I'm going to need to do some prep work. I figure I'll need the following:

* Course outline for beginners
* Memorize "Soul Sister" (since it will probably be expected I know it)
* Find a place to teach
* Add a soprano to my collection (tenor and concert now)
* Make sure my chops are really up to snuff

After I do that, I know of at least two shops I can advertise in (one I will probably have to sweet talk a bit). In addition, I can advertise at church and probably at several other churches in our area. Additional advertising online (craigslist) would be a fall back.

That's the basics of what I'm planning at the moment. I figure now is a good time to get my name in the mix since apparently the Christmas season is looking like ukulele heaven for some retailers right now.

If anyone has anything to add (especially those who are already teaching), then I would love to hear from you!

~DB

I think there was! Jason Mraz played a..Baritone ukulele I think. I might be wrong, but I'm yours is one of the basics.

Somewhere over the rainbow by the late Israel Kamakawiwo'ole is also another well known song.

If anyone has anything to add (especially those who are already teaching), then I would love to hear from you!

I don't teach, but I'll butt in anyway...