Best ways to learn the Ukulele ?

coconutmango

Reaction score
Hi, does any one have any recommendations on a beginner dvd course to learn to play the ukulele ?? Have any of you tried this one:

Ukulele Bartt's Ultimate Ukulele Complete dvd lessons

http://cgi.ebay.com/Ukulele-Bartts-...ultDomain_0&hash=item56407c5e73#ht_833wt_1141

If so, did you think it was helpful ? I want something that goes slowly and is very thorough - as I have no experience with any stringed instruments.....any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Looks like a pretty good place to start. Bartt is a member here at the UU and I have seen some of his videos and he is good. Heck for $20 or so, you really can't go wrong!

Take a look at my Boot Camp link beneath my signature,
and also the FREE Songbook.

I hope they help you.

Keep uke'in',

Hi coconutmango

there really are heaps and heaps of uke DVD's for beginners, you can't really go wrong whichever way you lean...

go the google option...you'll find more than you can cope with!!!

aside from Bartt and Jody Kamisato, you could try Ralph Shaw, Jumpin' Jim's "Joy of Uke #1", John McCarthy, Jim D'Ville etc, plus a stack of children's DVD's which are great for a new player no matter what age you are!

also, if you want something very thorough you may find you need to invest in 2 or 3 to cover different styles of playing - blues, traditional hawaiian, folk and bluegrass, ragtime and show tunes...

all the best with your purchase and with your learning! Let us know how it's going.

Hi coconutmango

there really are heaps and heaps of uke DVD's for beginners, you can't really go wrong whichever way you lean...

go the google option...you'll find more than you can cope with!!!

aside from Bartt and Jody Kamisato, you could try Ralph Shaw, Jumpin' Jim's "Joy of Uke #1", John McCarthy, Jim D'Ville etc, plus a stack of children's DVD's which are great for a new player no matter what age you are!