Help! I'm teaching a six year old on Saturday!!!

joeybug

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

It's Joey again. Now, as you all know, I'm a beginner, getting there with my own playing but still got a lot to work on. Now, for my God daughter (who lives with my and her mum, who is my carer - just some backstory for you there!) Darla was six on the 21st Oct, I gave her her first Ukulele, a lovely blue one same as Astrid my purple on, who she has named "Mei". Now, she asked me today if she could have lessons so she could "play songs like you Aunty Joey", which just melts my heart!

We decided that every Saturday we'd do like a 30-60 mins lesson so she can learn the basics. I'm planning to set her up with a notebook like mine with all the chord formations in it the front and then songs she knows written out in another section and a final section for any songs she writes/can play/whatever she chooses. It's worked for me and I think it'll work for her too.

My questions are as follows:

Should I try to teach her two chords for the first lesson and just strumming? Or add a simple song in there too? She's just learning to read and write, so I'd write the songs out for her, but the chord names would be easy for her to read because mostly their letters which she already knows.

What are some simple one/two/three chord songs that you think might appeal to a six year old tom boy - she likes Ben 10, dinosaurs, pirates, that kind of thing, so any songs on those subjects that are easy would be great!

How do I keep this "fun" for her? My worry is she'll get bored with just practising the same stuff, and lose interest and the Ukulele SHOULD be fun. I also don't want to give her too much to practise and have her overwhelmed and think it's too much work, again, taking away the fun of the Ukulele! What kind of balance is there? Two songs? Three? Four? More than that?