PDA

View Full Version : Official Ukulele Players of Los Angeles.

UkuleleBlake
06-28-2008, 01:41 AM
If you're a ukulele player from the Los Angeles and Los Angeles County area, beginner or pro, post here and we can all stay in touch. Possibly have some get-togethers and all that good stuff.
(I do realize there have been a few small L.A. threads; I am hoping to make this the official list.)

FunkyPeaNutZ
06-29-2008, 12:16 PM
I'm over here in Lakewood. I'm a professional beginner, which means I've been playing too long, and play so poorly. I'm up for anything. Hopefully LA can live up to the SD get-together standards.

UkuleleBlake
06-29-2008, 06:43 PM
What might those standards be? I'd love to have a get-together.

jimbeaubjj
07-01-2008, 06:05 PM
Hey...I'm one county over, but I still consider LA my home, sort of...I would come down for any get together....

FunkyPeaNutZ
07-01-2008, 07:02 PM
Those standards, are awesome vibes, great participation, even better attitude. Check some of the older posts of the San Diego meets, I believe nuke has a video of the 1st one. You won't be disappointed.

ricdoug
07-06-2008, 01:40 AM
It's reaslly growing in San Diego. We have over 1000 ukulele players ad a half dozen ukulele kanikapila clubs that I know about (I'm sure there are more):

http://www.ukuleleunderground.com/forum/showthread.php?t=3011

If you'd like to start a local group from an established international club, contact Mike McVay, or Pat Enos at:

http://launch.groups.yahoo.com/group/Ukulele_Society_of_America

There are already established rules, bylaws and a large downloadable songbook in place. It really takes the growing pains out of starting up a new club. Ric

ricdoug
07-06-2008, 01:58 AM
These are also close to L.A.:

http://www.koloheukuleleclub.org

http://www.koloheukuleleclub.org/PracticeMap.html

There is a Ventura chapter of the Ukulele Society of America, if that's close enough for any of you L.A. ukulelists:

Title: Ventura Ukulele Jam