Most Resonant and Best Sounding Wood

mendel

Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

I just started playing about a month ago, and I am having a blast. I have listened to some very talented people playing cover songs on YouTube, and I have begun wondering what the best sounding wood is for a Ukulele. I am not in the market now, as I am very busy working on my Dissertation, but I am curious for the future... I have a Concert size Lanikai right now, and if I were going to supplement with another uku, what is the way to go? Not looking to spend a ton, but 2 or 3 hundred at most. Any suggestions? I have seen and heard Mango wood, Koa, and a few others as well already. The Koa sounds wonderful!! So does the Mango!!!!

mendel

...and I have begun wondering what the best sounding wood is for a Ukulele.

It's absolutely impossible to prove one way or the other that one wood is the "best sounding wood" for a ukulele...
Opinions, yes...
But woods vary so much within a species, and the variables of building are endless...

The Koa sounds wonderful!! So does the Mango!!!!

Then there are the conifers, which every other instrument seems to rely on to get sound...

Depends on your play style and personal preference. At the moment I still love my mahogany, it is very soulful and sweet to me. Some people would be bored playing my uke though because it doesn't have that distinct uke sound, I think it works great for anything though. Who knows what woods are in my future, I hope at some point I will have the funds to explore them.

I got my Ohana TK-35G on sale for 250$ I think it was, which is quite a deal for an all solid wood instrument (factory made though, so some may not be as good as others, I don't know)

While it is impossible to say which wood is the best, there have been a number of posts that suggest a spruce or cedar top may be louder than other woods in your price range. For $200-$300, look for at least a solid wood top, if not a solid wood instrument.