What about lefties?

sarahsashes

Reaction score
I've been trying to get an answer to this for a long time. Would I have to have a huge amount of money to buy my first ukulele because I'm left handed? Can affordable ones around $60 be safely strung up in reverse for left handed players without damaging it?

Just learn to play right-handed. Seriously. It takes both hands. Ever seen a left-handed piano or a left-handed sax?

You could string it in reverse, but you will limit yourself if you insist on a left-handed uke since you won't be able to play any standard ukes.

You must not understand that some people are exclusively left handed. I can not play a guitar/uke with my left hand forming the chords same as I can not hold a pen and write with my right hand. I'm a lefty and that's just the way it is.

I'm a lefty too, and like you, there's no way I would ever use my right hand for anything - almost.
When I started playing guitar years ago, I decided to try out as a righty due to the fact that 9/10 guitars are righthanded and not suited for lefty playing.
After a short amount of time my right hand could play guitar better then my left hand.
I strongly suggest you try to play right handed - although it will seem awkward and unnatural at first, but you won't regret it! You'll be able to pick up almost any ukulele, instead of only your own lefthanded one.
However, if you still choose to go by left handed all you need to do is change the order of the strings. Strings from the top: GCEA -> AECG

Aloha Sarasashes,
I was born Left handed, but my parents converted me when I was about five years ago...While I play right handed I do many things left handed.......
You could say I'm a soft leftie....some lefties have no coordination and feel if they did'nt start young...personally I think it would be a long road
of practice to accompish the switch on ukulele if ever possible for some...As for a ukulele, you can take it to the music store to reverse the nut