PDA

View Full Version : No ukes at Guitar Center

Pukulele Pete
11-11-2010, 08:15 AM
I just went to the Guitar Center in N.Attleboro, Mass and they didnt have a single ukulele. I know it is not the Ukulele Center but with Christmas coming I thought I would see a few but I didnt see one. They have more ukuleles at the Christmas tree shop. What's up with The Guitar Center.

soupking
11-11-2010, 08:30 AM
That's odd. There's a George's Music store where I live in PA that has SIGNIFICANTLY expanded its uke section since I started playing last Christmas. I hope this trend continues as the overall uke selection in the NE is dreadful.

SweetWaterBlue
11-11-2010, 09:05 AM
My local GC is a wasteland, when it comes to ukes. Its very strange (and short-sighted) of them not to be stocking up on ukes for the Christmas season at the very least. In contrast my local Sam Ash has quite a few and the manager tells me they are out selling guitars and he can't keep them in stock. Of course neither one carries any high end ukes, so its nice we have UkeRepublic close by.

RyRod
11-11-2010, 09:25 AM
My local G.C. has a couple Lanikai's, Cordoba's and some cheap soprano. They're all locked up though. They are in with all the acoustic guitars in that humidified room but they're behind glass. It takes forever for someone to come and unlock the glass too. I went in a couple times just to see what they would do.

I don't see how they can sell any if they're inaccessible.

ukecantdothat
11-11-2010, 09:59 AM
Maybe they sell so fast they have trouble keeping 'em on the shelves... or locked up behind glass!

danged
11-11-2010, 10:28 AM
The GC in San Francisco, has Martin and recently added Kala which they are actually charging full retail, about 30% higher than MGM!

Ukuleleblues
11-11-2010, 10:38 AM
They probably have them in the back under some lights in a pot full of peat hoping they will grow up to be a guitar. "Dude, they sent us some more of the Guitar seeds again"!