Triplets

Papa Tom

Reaction score
I've been playing uke for about four years now and came to the instrument with a better-than-average feel for strumming, muting, etc., having been a drummer all my life.

Still, all these years later, while I can play a pretty good SUCCESSION of triplets using the extended thumb/straight pointer/L-shaped hand technique, I have major trouble working a SINGLE triplet into a rhythmic figure without making a frigging mess.

I think it might have something to do with the fact that I strum with my middle finger, ring finger, and pinky, rather than my pointer, which is one of the main fingers in the triplet strum. I don't think I'll be changing this habit anytime soon.

So can anybody provide some pointers or exercises for working a triplet or two into a rhythmic pattern when your strumming technique is as I described? I'm sure I'm not the only ukulele player out there who strums the way I do.

I posted this once before on another uke group and got only a bunch of links to ridiculously hard triplet lessons and a guys showing off their abilities. I'm already intimidated enough by all the players out there who are light years more fluid and clean than I am with the instrument, so please only respond if you have a "gentle" suggestion and/or a tip from your PERSONAL experience.

Thanks, all!

It seems like a triplet would be difficult to do one time and have it recognizable as a triplet. Do you have any UT or recordings of someone doing that in a song? I'd be interested in hearing/seeing that.

I think it's pretty common in Hawaiian music. At least when I play it. :)

What about Alice Cooper's School's Out? Isn't that 1, triplet, 3, triplet, 1, triplet, triplet, triplet?