New builder- a couple of questions

tms

Reaction score
Hello,

I've been lurking here for about a month and thought I should introduce myself before asking questions. I'm an amateur woodworker in Seattle, and I have no specialty whatsoever. I've built furniture, from chairs to casework, and I've built boats to longbows. My shop is located just up the street from Dusty Strings, in the Fremont neighborhood of Seattle, and I appear to be surrounded by all things ukulele.

I am new to lutherie and to ukuleles as well. I don't even know how to play one. Although I was taught to play clarinet, and later, saxophone, for the past ten years I've been playing the Irish concertina.

I've decided to try to build my first ukulele from scratch, while at the same time finishing off a Grizzly kit. I've watched all of Pete's videos at least twice, and a few others that seemed worthwhile, so felt confident to make the jump.

I am using Christophe Greliier's soprano plans but thought to make a few modifications. I plan to use Pete's bolt on method for attaching the neck, and I from what I've gleaned from this forum, I should arc the top, although the plans show a flat top. I have some nice koa left over from a furniture project, and so thought to use it instead of mahogany, as shown in the plans.

My first question is about thickness. The plans call for 1.5mm thickness all around. This translates to .0591", which seems a bit thin, judging from what I seen in discussions here. I've milled my koa down to .0625" for the top and bottom, and .066" for the sides; all to 120 grit. I know that each piece is different, but without deflection testing, I'm inclined to stop at this thickness unless advised differently.

My second question is about units. Griellier's plan is obviously metric, but most of the posts here are decimal inches, regardless of country of origin. I am comfortable with either. Is there a general agreement to use decimal inches, or should I continue in metric?