Yes, but is it Art?

ukecantdothat

Reaction score
I came across the remnants of my nearly (sic) departed Lehua longneck soprano yesterday, so I glued it all to what used to be the base of my homemade uke stand (now an Ukulazy Susan...) Then I hung it on my office wall, next to my revolving rack o' ukes and called it "Art" with a capital "A." I can do that. I have a degree in capital "A" Art. I call it "nearly" departed because, as shown, the neck is now part of a cigar box uke (also suitable for hanging - or in this case - spinning...).

Lehua Art 1.jpgLehua Art 2.jpg

I like it "nearly" enough! Thanks.

No sound hole on your cigar box?

Also, as for the art, it's definitely influenced by the early neo-deconstructionism works, yet shows some definite originality, with the black backplate obviously representing the depths of the soul, and the absence of the neck piece being a statement on the current trend of materialism. Despite some ill-conceived restraint, reflecting on the the artists still-developing sense of space and lighting, I predict stunning things to come in future works.

(Do not attempt to any of the above seriously... except the question about the sound hole. )

Last edited:
I came across the remnants of my nearly (sic) departed Lehua longneck soprano yesterday, so I glued it all to what used to be the base of my homemade uke stand (now an Ukulazy Susan...) Then I hung it on my office wall, next to my revolving rack o' ukes and called it "Art" with a capital "A." I can do that. I have a degree in capital "A" Art. I call it "nearly" departed because, as shown, the neck is now part of a cigar box uke (also suitable for hanging - or in this case - spinning...).

View attachment 17716View attachment 17717

So what arrangement or chord were you working right before the Lehua took on this form??