Old cassettes can be very humbling.

olgoat52

Reaction score
Used to think I was a pretty good musician "back in the day". Vocals, guitar, lots of bands, lots of arranging, lots of jobs.

Over the weekend I found a couple of cassette tapes from "back in the day". Man! I sucked!!!

I am devastated!! :eek::rolleyes: I don't know what I was thinking...

Used to think I was a pretty good musician "back in the day". Vocals, guitar, lots of bands, lots of arranging, lots of jobs.

Over the weekend I found a couple of cassette tapes from "back in the day". Man! I sucked!!!

I am devastated!! :eek::rolleyes: I don't know what I was thinking...

Ha! Ha! That sounds just like me olgoat...I've got a few tapes too of some gigs and also some studio demos from early 90's and they sound awful!!!! I was shocking...amazing how time and distance changes our perspective on lots of things in life, eh.

The encouraging thing though is, just think how much we've improved since those days...I think with music, ones skills are continually being refined and refined...the more you play the more you improve. It's a lifelong journey we're on, that's why we should never feel totally satisfied...we must continue to strive as long as we keep playing.

Thanks for sharing your confronting experience mate!!! But hey, it's a part of who you are...embrace it, and the memories that go with that time...it's all part of the puzzle

Ha! Ha! That sounds just like me olgoat...I've got a few tapes too of some gigs and also some studio demos from early 90's and they sound awful!!!! I was shocking...amazing how time and distance changes our perspective on lots of things in life, eh.