Baritone Comparison

maikii

Reaction score
I am a newbie to ukes, and am thinking of getting a Baritone Uke. In the lower price range, but not the lowest.

One that I am considering is the Kala Mahogony Baritone Uke, that you can see at Amazon.com by clicking here. $118

On the Kala site, I also saw variations of that one, for instance "gloss finish" (is that just for looks, or does it affect sound?), with EQ, etc. (Does EQ mean with electronic pickup?)

However, for a little more, also on Amazon, a Lanakai bari uke with Spruce top for just a little more, $137, which you can see here (It says there "Solid Spruce Series") To get a spruce top bari uke on Amazon from Kala, however, costs much more, $181, as you can see here.

Does the spruce top give a better sound than all mahagony? What is the advantage of it? Is there a reason that the Kala spruce top bari costs much more than the Lanakai one?

Thank you for your input.

The sound is not necessarily better, just different. The mahogany (solid) instruments, like the Ohana BK-35, have a sweet mellow sound that will sound even better with age. The solid spruce-topped ukes will have a bit more guitar-like sound to them and be louder with age. Louder, especially in baritone ukes, is not always better, either.

The Lanikai ukes don't put out much volume at all. I have always liked their action (good neck setup), but they are really NOT mahogany, they are NATO. Their genuine mahogany ukes are higher priced.

If you want sturdy construction and a solid top, take a look at the Ohana BK-20CE, which also has a UK-2000 pickup in it.

Last edited: