Pick or no Pick?

hankisanerd

Reaction score
I fingers like sausages and I am a nail bitter. So, can I use a pick and if so which ones would be best?

Yes of course you CAN use a pick,but practice without one
and you will find that you have more control over your playing.
You can strum/pick harder or softer to gain/lose volume,and
try different strum techniques,as you progress,like triples and
fan strokes.All a matter of choice really;I recently met an old
gent who had been using pick for two years,and frankly getting
nowhere.He watched a group of us using our fingers,and tried
to copy us. Finally something clicked,and within an hour he was
(in his own words) 'Playing better than I ever have before!'

Do these aLaska pics stay on pretty well for fast and furious strumming? I work in the medical field and having nails too long can pierce through examination gloves :(

Do these aLaska pics stay on pretty well for fast and furious strumming? I work in the medical field and having nails too long can pierce through examination gloves :(

Medical field for me, too. I'm a noob and haven't yet strummed "fast and furious". It might take some tape to hold them on...

I know what you mean about the nails, bro, I have been able to grow mine a couple times over the years but it comes back like a bad habit. Wait a minute, it is a bad habit, DOH!

Anyway, try stumming with the index finger only, that might work for you. I do keep picks handy put I also play guitar (another bad habit :) ) and I find the very thin picks work ok, not as soft a sound but an easy way to boost the volume. Remember that you play what's inside of you and as long as that comes through you can play anyway you want.

I bought a 3-pack of these guys here:
http://www.amazon.com/Pear-Shape-Picks-Guitar-Ukulele/dp/B003KQY8DQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1290877810&sr=8-1