What are the best ways to hide glue line?

UkeforJC

Reaction score
Dear experience builders,
Well, I just finished gluing the neck to the body. I think the method I used to do this was not too perfect. It was the method instructed in stewmac kit.

The result wasn't very pleasing to me.
I have some very obvious gap in between the neck and the body. I can also see a dark glue line in the gap too.
I tried to fill the gap using the paste made of tidebond glue and the wood dust.
After I sanded off the access, the gap is still there. It is like I never did this process.
SO, if you have any suggestion how I can fill this gap to hide the glue line, that will be great.

Thank you..

I'm no expert but I don't think there is any way to get a color match that would make the gap disappear, regardless of what material you use to fill it. Maybe some of the more experienced builders can chime in.

This is a Pic of a Kamaka Soprano neck joint i found on the web ..I don't know if it had been repaired or what? but it didn't look too good to me..if yours is better than this don't worry about it ..just play it.
kamaka.jpg

Last edited:
The bottom line is there is no easy way to hide an ill fitting joint. You could do a dark sunburst on the uke, which could make things less obvious, but that is a lot of work and not easy to do in itself. Probably better to live with it and do better next time. Be aware as the builder, you are probably your own worst critic, others may not notice what you consider obvious flaws. It is a good trait in a builder, the trick is learning when to let go.

Brad

Thank you all for your comments. Since there is no easy way to hide the glue line, I guess I will have to let it go and do better next time.
So, I want to ask your opinion about what is the best way to join the neck and the body? I shall try a different way next time.

Checkout out the pictures of my StewMac build.... http://www.ukuleleunderground.com/f...ures-of-my-first-build...&p=482984#post482984