New uke excitement / disappointment - Kala Acacia Tenor saddle issue.

kful

Reaction score
I'm new to playing ukulele. Yesterday, I got my new Kala Acacia Tenor from Musicguymic. I'm very impressed with their communication, quick shipping, and prices. The packing was excellent, also.

The tone and sustain isn't quite what I was hoping for. On the bass side of the bridge, the saddle has a considerable gap on the bottom. I'm wondering if a new saddle or adjusting the existing one might help. I wonder if new strings might be the answer.

Does anyone know of a good place to take it to in Orange County, CA?

I really want to like this uke!

Well something just doesn't sound right. Musicguy wouldn't send out a defective uke. By all Means CALL Mike FIRST and tell him your problem. He will figure it out and do what is right with you. guaranteed. His setups are known as the best in the business so PLEASE call him. Good luck. Don't be too disappointed or frustrated, it will work out and you will be a uke lover. Lozark

CALL MGM. He answers his phone.

I'm totally not blaming MGM. I'm sure it's just a minor manufacturing issue, which isn't the fault of the dealer.

I didn't realize MGM was a member here, although I chose him based on the praise I've read about him and his business here.

I was really wondering if a gap between the saddle is normal and how much issue this could cause. I was also hoping someone would have a quick fix.

I'm calling MGM, right now!

Thanks for the replys.

+1 for MGM, he is a stand up guy and treats everybody right. Good luck with the Uke.

I called Mike and he'll send out another saddle. He also gave some good advice on how to check the existing saddle. Very cool guy.

Thanks!

any chance you'd be willing to take a picture of the saddle and gap? Just so we could see what you are talking about?