upgrading Uke

Tantal

Reaction score
So here is my situation. A few weeks ago I got myself a really..really cheap Uke ($30) as a curiosity and to accompany my daughter learning guitar. I have never played an instrument before apart from the flute. I am an extreme novice.

Thing is I fell in love the Uke. Now I am starting to get better (know all my major chords by heart, dexterity improved, calluses formed, etc). Been practicing for about an hour minimum every day since I got it. I changed the strings to Aquilla strings and it sounds soo much better (even though I need to tune it every 15 min).

Now my issue with it is it is a Soprano. Now as a 6'2" guy with very large hands, this thing is too small. I find myself having a hard time holding it and strumming comfortably. I get wrist and shoulder pains holding it. The lower body edge rests against the inside forearm between the wrist and elbow. Now I went to the local music store and tried out different sizes (from Soprano to Baritone). The ones that felt more natural to me and allowed me to play more relaxed were the Concert and Tenor sizes.

My questions is when I buy a better Uke ($100-150 price range), should I go for a Tenor or stick it out with a Soprano? Is my discomfort due to me not being used to the instrument?

Any input is appreciated. :)

if a concert and tenor were more relaxed to you. Then I'd get one. You can get a nice midrange concert near your max budget. If you wanted to go tenor, quality would drop a little but not much.

I'm 6'5", started with a tenor, tried baritone briefly, and now I'm loving the concert size.
Sopranos are just too small for me, sadly.

well, I am only 5'6", but I play tenor and baritone much better than I play soprano- it is all about the size of your hands and what feels comfortable. I think tenor is a great starting point if you can hang with the tension- if not, Baritone is nice.

Aloha Tantal,