I got asked to teach the ukulele.

Dane

Reaction score
Now I'm not trained in music really, I mostly just do my own thing, and I have been working more on my theory and everything, but I know the all the basics and some intermediate things and advanced things, but they're quite random.

A family friend asked if I would be interested in teaching their child the ukulele! I think I could definitely give them lessons for a while. Chords and chord progressions stuff, I could teach the kid a few strum songs, maybe get em to sing along while they play eventually.

They asked because they said they have guitars, but they are too big and confusing for the child, so they thought ukulele would be a good choice.

I was just hoping you guys could tell me if this is a good idea, I'd hate to find that I'm a bad or confusing teacher and then I'd ruin the fun of the ukulele for a child, which as we know, would make them much-less likely to continue with it.

I'd really appreciate any comments in regards to this matter.

Thanks and have a good one,
-Dane

Now I'm not trained in music really, I mostly just do my own thing, and I have been working more on my theory and everything, but I know the all the basics and some intermediate things and advanced things, but they're quite random.

A family friend asked if I would be interested in teaching their child the ukulele! I think I could definitely give them lessons for a while. Chords and chord progressions stuff, I could teach the kid a few strum songs, maybe get em to sing along while they play eventually.
They asked because they said they have guitars, but they are too big and confusing for the child, so they thought ukulele would be a good choice.
I was just hoping you guys could tell me if this is a good idea, I'd hate to find that I'm a bad or confusing teacher and then I'd ruin the fun of the ukulele for a child, which as we know, would make them much-less likely to continue with it.