Possible KALA uke problem plus, thoughts on my first 2 weeks at it.

habe

Reaction score
If any remember my other thread, the first KALA KA-CEM that was delivered was destroyed in shipping. The replacement looked pretty good with no flaws to my newbie eye.

I did confirm a possible problem tonight of an issue that I noticed the second day I had the uke but, since I am new to this, wasn't sure if this was an issue or not....

When I gave the uke a good visual inspection the day after I got it, I noticed that when looking down the edges of the fret board/neck, there is a noticable curve to the fret board. Maybe it's a curse but, I have a pretty good eye and natuarally notice when something isn't perfectly straight.

Tonight, I took a good (although plastic), straight and sturdy 3 sided drafting ruler and layed it from the first to last fret wires, checking both sides of the fret board. At the 8th fret wire, there is a very noticable gap between the fret and the rule. I would estimate somewhere around 2/64 to maybe as much as 3/64's!! I'd say the gap is about the thickness of a credit card.

I take it that this is not normal and that the tops of all your fret wires should be level (or close to)?? I'm sure that this will have a definite effect on payability although right now at my level, it may not be a severe an issue.

I wait until I get a few responses and if it is an issue, I'll call Kala on Monday.

Thing that really sucks is I have been putting in a really good effort towards practicing and find I am getting in about one to two hours (or more sometimes) practice per day. If I have to send the uke back I'll be bummed as I won't have anything to practice on until it gets resolved.

Thoughts about my experience so far.....

I'm having a really great time and am enjoying playing the ukuele a lot. I still really suck but, am amazed at how far I've come in 2 short weeks.

1. I'm finally learning chords without looking at what my left hand is doing.