Very first build (Advice needed)

ucityuker

Reaction score
I am working on my very first "ground up" instrument build. 7 weeks ago I was a college student with a crazy idea and now I'm really close to wrapping this thing up. I met a woodworker who had no prior knowledge of instruments, and yet he decided to help me get through this thing. The two hurdles that scared me most about the project were side bending and neck carving. As of today, with the carving of the neck, both hurdles are now past tense. I did a lot of research on the project and went with Pete Howlett's neck carving technique. I made 2 curves first, the heel side and just under the peg head, with a rasp and then connected the two with a spokeshave. The only thing that bothers me is the fact that it didn't turn out as straight as I had hoped. I had reference lines but it is still a little crooked. The question I have is whether or not this will affect the playability or intonation of the uke. I sure hope not. Thanks for reading.
IMG_0178.jpgIMG_0180.jpgIMG_0184.jpgIMG_0176.jpgIMG_0179.jpg

Aloha Ucityuker,
Nice job, your first uke??? wow awesome dude....thanks for sharing!! Keep us updated on your progress...MM Stan

looks great- took on a dove tail joint on your first uke even! I'm not sure about the "didn't come out as straight" reference. As long as the line from the center of the nut through the center of the neck at the body and then through the center of the tail end of the body is straight then it should play just fine. If the sides of the neck are a bit of then it might feel uneven when you are working up and down the neck but it shouldn't effect anything with the intonation. If your neck alignment is a bit off and you can't or on't want to correct it than adjust your saddle position to center on the "new" centerline from the nut and down the neck. Take all this with a grain of salt as I am just an amateur at this.

I've made three "ground up" ukes, and mine are all more crooked than that.