Banjolele not in tune with itself

rjjenkins

Reaction score
Hello

I just bought a second hand banjolele - it seems in reasonable condition with new strings. But ... I can't get it to stay in tune with itself. For example if I play an F chord, the A on the first string (with a finger on the second fret) is quite a lot sharper than the open A on the fourth string. Even though the open strings are in tune.

It makes me think that the frets aren't properly spaced, or maybe the bridge is at the wrong angle?

Something that bothers me slightly is that the metal thing that holds the strings to the body of the instrument, beyond the bridge (sorry don't know what it's called) is not parallel to the bridge - when I tune up, the tension on the strings pulls it to an angle. But I don't think this is the reason because the only important factor in tuning is the length of string between bridge and fret.

Any ideas? I am a bit of a novice with ukes, although I can play other instruments, and I have noticed that other (cheap) ukes I have played are not very in tune with themselves. Is this just something you have to live with?

There's an old saying, "It takes a village to tune a banjo". It could be any number of things throwing it off. As you said it could just be intonated incorrectly, but it could be a bad string, incorrect bridge placement, maybe you need to tighten the head a little and check the action. They just take more fiddleing with than a regular ukulele. Tou may even want to un-string it and set it up again. One thing I've noticed is that clip-on tuners don't work so well on banjo-ukes if they are on the vibration setting, be sure to use the mic setting. Hope that helps

There's an old saying, "It takes a village to tune a banjo".

:D