New Uke Day! ... Fred Shields

70sSanO

Reaction score
My wife and I went down to San Diego to celebrate our birthdays, both less than week apart. We usually wander around hit different shops, do some shopping; something for both of us.

There is a guitar store in La Mesa, in the village, called Moze Guitars. I've ben stopping in at Moze for a lot of years, they used to be in a real hole in the wall store by the college.

So I see this fluke shaped concert ukulele that is advertised as a solid wood custom and it is made by Fred Shields. I picked it up and it plays really nice and sounds suprisingly good.

I talked to the store and found out that Fred Shields is local builder, a tile setter by trade, that makes ukuleles in his spare time. They thought Fred said the wood was poplar or alder. It has a rosewood fretboard, maple neck, ebony(?) bridge, and the wormanship is very good. Nicely finished fret ends, side markers, the back is a heel cap for the neck, a side port, all in a nice satin finish.

Also, Fred cannot be making any money on these because the store was selling this one for $179.00. Where can you find a handcrafted American made ukulele for under $200? It is really nice to be able to find little gems like these tucked away here and there.

Fred also makes taditional shaped concert and tenor ukuleles out of mahogany, for a little more, as well as a pineapple, and a side port camp uke. Moze also had a pretty cool thin body electric that Fred had made.

As for this ukulele, since I couldn't put it down, I had no choice but to buy it.

Here is a pic...

IMG_3372.JPG

More pics... http://imageevent.com/70ssano/fredshieldsukulele

Enjoy!

John

Last edited:
Aloha John,
Contrats looks Sweet, would mind giving it a try myself... it screams to be played....all kind of goodies ...side port, different shape, unusal position tuner pegs. definetly worth a try...Thanks for sharing...
Happy Strumming and Happy Holidays to you and your family!!! MM Stan..