Oh my, a new callus...

OldePhart

Reaction score
Heh heh, just noticed I'm getting a new callus on the side of my left index figure. I've had callusses (callussi?) on my finger tips since I started playing guitar a bunch of moons ago - in fact I think I've killed most of the nerves in my left fingertips because when even when I go for an extended period without playing and don't have visible callusses I still have hard little bumps under the tips and they don't have much feeling left in them.

This is a new callus where I've never had one, though. Spent about twenty minutes tonight playing everything I've been playing to try to figure when I'm tilting my finger like that and I think it's just on a handful of chords where I've got to pack my fingers in close. Good thing I'm not playing a soprano or I'd probably have callusses on the back of my wrist! LOL

John

Aloha John, congratulations I guess? Keep on strumming & keep the callusses coming. Happy Holidays!

Aloha John,
Those Callouses are a badge of honor in myn book....wear them with pride...Have Fun and Enjoy!! Happy Strummings and Holidays!!! MM Stan...

+1 on a sign of progress! Congrats!

Not heard of the callus yet, where are they made and are they better than a Martin... what are the best strings to use and is it in high or low G

Hmmmmm I don't think I actually have "callussi", but my fingertips are desensitized (numb) and on the tough side, and don't ever hurt, but a true callus I don't think I have ever had. Even with guitar. But I'm with Stan, anytime they are numb and don't hurt, a badge of honor :) Lozark

Not heard of the callus yet, where are they made and are they better than a Martin... what are the best strings to use and is it in high or low G
Hi Pastyman, Sorry I'm not sure if you're joking. The "callus" is not a uke. It's the hardening of the skin, on the fretting hand finger tips. :)
DAP

Gottcha!!!.