PDA

View Full Version : A First Time Build: Walnut/Sitka Spruce Concert from Scratch

GossyHawk
12-13-2010, 05:42 AM
Story:

My wife has been talking about getting rid of her guitar because she no longer plays (she finds her standard body guitar too big and she has just not really been playing lately). She talked about getting a ukulele as this would allow her to still have something to play for our young son for some live music in the home.

I've been a hobbyist woodworker for several years, but from a woodworking perspective this was something quite different for me - especially given the fact that I had no knowledge of how to build a musical instrument (and I actually don’t know how to play any either). There is a "body" and a "neck" was about the extent of my previous knowledge...I've come a long way ;)

I thought briefly about buying a kit, or even just the soundboard, but decided I wanted to make everything from scratch.

I thought I'd make a post here as I've reviewed a lot of threads and taken a good number of helpful hints from the forum.

Thanks for looking.

Cheers,
Keith.

Gritty Details:

Plans: Fan-braced Concert Ukulele from Hana Lima ‘Ia
Tuners: Gotoh Gold with Amber Mini-Tuners
Strings: Aquila Nylgut (High-G)
Sides/Back/Neck: Walnut
Soundboard: Sitka Spruce
Bracing and kerfing: Sitka Spruce (except bridge bracing which was hard maple)
Fretboard and Bridge: Cocobolo
Fretboard plugs: Hard Maple
Saddle and nut: Corian
Binding: Walnut and Hard Maple
Rosette: Walnut and Hard Maple
Headstock Veneer and Tail Inlay: Hard Maple
Finish: KTM-9

fitncrafty
12-13-2010, 05:48 AM
Wow .. It is quite beautiful.. would love to hear how it sounds....

Gmoney
12-13-2010, 05:49 AM
Lovely, just lovely.

Lexxy
12-13-2010, 06:03 AM
Magnificent creation.

Dane
12-13-2010, 06:22 AM
wow I really like it. And I like how your coating has a little texture to it. Very cool. How does it sound? =)

GossyHawk
12-13-2010, 06:36 AM