Ukulele amp???????

cherry413

Reaction score
Hey Uuers! i am a beginner ukulele player and i am trying to get a Concert oscar schmidt ou2e. this Uke has a pickup on it and amps are pretty expensive. So i was wondering if i could use my karaoke machine for an amp. its a pretty big karaoke its about 2 and a half feet tall and the speaker takes up most of it. oh...and i know like nothing about amps....thanks in advance!:rock:

Here is a link to the Uke,
http://www.instrumentalley.com/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=OU2E&click=35

The quality of the sound is directly linked to the amp. I would wager that the sound through the karaoke unit will be poor. That isnt to say your karaoke is poor - its just that to get a good sound from an acoustic instrument, you are better with an acoustic amp.

I use the following two - the first one for home practice, or just to get a lift when playing against guitars, and the latter for gigging solo
http://gotaukulele.blogspot.com/2010/10/what-amps-do-i-use-for-ukulele-playing.html

I agree. You're almost certainly better off with any amp designed for acoustic guitar.

This is a bit technical, but the pickups built into acoustic instruments are usually *extremely* high impedance. For your purposes, you can think of impedance as resistance (bad word...resistance is similar but not the same thing) to the flow of electrons. The signal (or sound) goes where the impedance is. So if you have a high impedance output from the instrument and a much lower impedance input (as you're likely to find on a karaoke machine designed with a microphone in mind), there won't be much transfer of signal to the karaoke box. You'll likely get a thin, shrill, crappy sound.

Guitar amps are designed with high impedance inputs to better match the pickups of the guitar. Acoustic guitar amps are usually designed with even higher impedance inputs. That's what you want.