Learning HOW to play a ukulele

KevinTJH

Reaction score
I'm trying to be a self-taught ukulele player but have no idea where to start.

Can anyone suggest some good uke books or resources for a beginner to become a pro without the need to take lessons from a teacher?
I've got quite a lot of experience with guitar and bass (if that helps).

Thanks in advance.!

I am in your boat, justa couple of months down the road. It is possible. There are some fantastic iphone Aps available that are free and can be used to learn chords. Also, there is a website that provides player written tabs for a ton of songs. http://www.ukulele-tabs.com/ is the site. Also,, there are some incredible tutorial videos available on Youtube. Just search for Ukulele lessons. There are also good books, but I don;t know which ones to recommend. Best wishes, and remember, the only one that has to enjoy your playing is you. It will grow on others over time. Enjoy, and strum away!!

mendel

Learn from Aldrine and links from this site. You won't go far astray.

The internet is a great resource and it is not all that difficult to be self taught. I do recommend that you look for a class or at least a uke group to go play with.
Most groups welcome beginners and there are almost always some members that will point you in the right direction.
Private lessons are great, but I believe if you have some basic skills you can get more out of lessons.
The ukulele is a very social instrument and playing with others gets you on the fast track to improvement.

Go to Google Books. Type in Ukulele. The first book you will see is really REALLY helpful for beginners.

The real benefits of a teacher are 1. the hands on instruction in some aspects of technique that make playing easier and better sounding EARLY ON, 2. the constructive criticism of the student's playing.

Welcome to the UU Family,

Please feel free to use the links to my Ukulele Boot Camp and
the Free Songbook.

I hope they will help you and encourage you.