Ukulele Strap

milkjune96

Reaction score
Hey I've been playing my ukulele for about eight months now. I'd say I'm pretty good but I don't want to have a big ego or seem that way. I wondered if I could get a strap attached to my ukulele. It does NOT have a button for a strap anywhere but is that something that could be "installed?" And does it just have to be a strap that hooks on the bottom and at the top of the neck or can i get one that hooks on the bottom and on the heel?

Hope I made sense!

Send a message to Lori- I have heard fantastic things about the Uke-Leash she makes. I asked the same thing in a post not too long ago.

Well thanks for that bit of information. I'll have to check the leash out. I was wondering if there was a way for a full strap though. Similar to a guitar strap but on ukulele of course.

My husband put strap buttons on most of our ukuleles, and we get mandolin straps from www.guitarstrapsonline.com. They only required one button, and they have lots of patterns available.

I was wondering if there was a way for a full strap though. Similar to a guitar strap but on ukulele of course.

Yes. A reputable luthier or guitar repair shop can install a strap button on your ukulele. If you're handy with tools, you could probably do it yourself, but I personally wouldn't trust myself with qa drill anywhere near one of my ukuleles.

Most of my instruments have buttons on the "tail" of the body (several are electric and have a strap button / jack). I use a nylon or leather chord loop around the headstock (under the strings, above the nut) of these instruments. I have a nice round braided leather strap that I originally bought for mandolin that I added a plastic clip to one end - then all I have to do to attach the strap I originally bought for mandolin is snap the clip through the loop and put the other over the strap button on the heel as usual. One strap for many instruments.

Two other notes on straps and buttons: