Dragon My Butt

too bad he's not breathing fire as well

That'll be on the fret board and head stock.

I have some pearl detail around the side sound port as well. The real challenge is working on curved surfaces. Holding the uke between my knees while routing the cavities is no easy trick either. It's hard enough to inlay into koa. It doesn't look it but that's a days work.

Amazing work Chuck. It makes me appreciated my MB even more (although I didn't think that was possible.)

Beautiful Chuck. Do you do all your own drawings?

Yes. Well sort of. Source material will either come from the custom, Google image search, or in one of the many image files I've collected over the years. I've also got many boxes of books, calendars, cards, advertisements, etc that I take inspiration from. Others will be completely from my head. I'm not a real artist and I'm certainly not a wiz on the computer so I'm sure there are better ways. Here's how I do it.
The image is copied and printed as large as I can get it (11' X 8 1/2") then the outline is traced in pencil. Any adjustments or modifications are done at this point. The drawing is then retraced with a fine felt tipped pen. I use as fine a pen as I can find so that when the image is reduced in size the line will be super fine, allowing for a close fit of the pieces. Then the image is scanned and imported into an art program (I use iPages) and reduced in size. I'll make several sizes until I find one that fits right. When I've got a good one I will make multiple copies of the image (one or two dozen) on the same page. Like a jigsaw puzzle, each little segment will be cut out and glued onto the material to be cut and blah, blah, blah. The rest is just hard and tedious work.

Last edited:
Gorgeous! Even my UAS immune husband is lusting after this one!

Very nice. Look forward to some pics of the additional inlays.

blah, blah, blah...I'm not a real artist...blah, blah, blah...

One word -- Bullsh*t!