That's right. I got a frickin mandolin

cocohonk

Reaction score
Not really sure how it happened. Saw one on a craigslist type website, there was a very, very cheap mandolin for sale, and I couldn't help myself. It's a Starsun (from what I gather on the internet, it's a laminate wood and made in china) bit dirty and dusty, but all the parts work for the most part, and for 18$ it might be fun to tinker with it. (Plus I love F-holes).

Now, I don't really have any aspirations to learn how to play a mandolin (at least, not while I'm still learning how to play the ukulele), so I'm interested to know if it's possible to convert it into a ukulele of sorts.

The funny thing is that the previous owner had already stringed the mandolin in a way that resembles a low-G ukulele (unless, given my lack of mandolin knowledge, that's how a mandolin is stringed anyway). I already tried tuning it to gCEA, and it works for the most part! And the strings don't feel too tense or loose or anything (the strings I got were just no brand generic steel strings, so maybe that's why?) Of course, I have no way to actually bar the chords with the neck, but for little ditties, it works amazingly well.

But, man, are those double steel strings a nightmare on my uke pampered finger tips. So, I took out the second string of every pair and tried it as a four stringed steel string instrument - which actually leaves a little more room on the tiny neck for my fingers to maneuver. Now I'm thinking to just try it out with some ukulele strings because I'm not so great with a pick, and hey, I'm curious. Questions:

1. Would this actually work? Or will the notes be all screwed up because the strings are all wrong?

2. Will burning the ukulele string end (and let's say I make a more complicated knot when making the loop) help it hold in the loop configuration at the bottom? Or will this just be in vain? I'm curious.