Seeking instrumental solo music and more advanced technique books.

Tomdini

Reaction score
Sup fellow ukers,

I'm a composer and orchestrator living in L.A., and I picked up the uke a few weeks ago. It's pretty much single-handedly saved my love for music (been kinda despondent and down in the dumps for many months now... ukes are great for curing that kinda thing).

I'm a classical pianist and an extremely competent guitarist (not to mention my vocation...), so while I'm new to the uke, I am not new to music theory or fretted instruments.

While other instruments have afforded me a vast compendium of art music literature to draw upon as well as countless stacks of method/technique books for all skill levels, I'm finding it difficult to locate such materials for the uke. Guess that makes sense... it's a relatively recent development compared to the piano or the guitar. Anyway, I can't find what I'm looking for in the local music shops and bookstores... just uber beginner/slightly-more-experienced beginner books. And the solo instrumental catalog for uke appears to be almost nonexistent.

But what do I know? So I'll appeal to you guys who have a better idea than me of what's out there. I'm looking for intermediate/advanced level technique books and instrumental solo uke music to play. That's about it.

I'm not really a fan of using Youtube and websites to learn music... I'm not old, but maybe I just need to get with the times. Still, a good set of scale exercises and some loose sheets of music on the stand are what I prefer... I'm boring like that.

Thanks a bunch and I look forward to being a part of the community! Already, sitting in a studio filled with tens of thousands of dollars in guitars, amps, and mics, I find myself disenchanted and reaching for my ukulele...

-Tom Dini

Sup fellow ukers,