Moisture content of wood

Terry, Although I'm pretty new to this, I've been doing a bunch of research as I collect tonewood from various sources for future builds. My understanding is that you want moisture content to be in the 6% to 10% range before you build, depending on your location and shop environment. I use a cheap moisture meter from Harbor Freight which seems to work as far as I can tell. It gives consistent readings, so even if it is off by a percentage point or two I know which sets are drier than the others.

As I learned just yesterday, it is important to sticker wood as soon as it arrives so it can acclimate to your shop without warping, cupping or twisting. I received some nice koa in the mail from Hawaii and it started to cup as soon as it came out of the package. I stickered it and wrapped bungee cords around the pile to keep the pressure on, and I'm hopeful it will flatten out as the wood's moisture content adjusts to the NY winter climate.

Hope this helps. If I'm incorrect due to noobiness, I hope someone will set me straight (pun intended).

Michael

Im doing the same thing as far as collecting wood and resawing some while its still a bit wet. I was hoping resawing it wet would speed the drying a little.

Thanks for you input Michael. I will check out Habor Freight. Ive been finding wood local for cheap but its still wet. I enjoy the hunt :)

I'm not sure green wood should ever be cut for ukulele sets. You'll wind up with something resembling a stack of potato chips. At the same time I don't like resawing too dry, it takes too much effort. For koa I found that somewhere about 15% is right for my setup. If you must cut green, cut the thickness in half then dry it some more before resawing.