More than 4 strings?

mendel

Reaction score
Simple question here... Why?

I do not mean to sound simple, but I genuinely want to understand it. I am relatively new to Uke, so please forgive my ignorance.

Mendel

A different sound.

Heresy I say!!! Heresy! They're not little mandolins or little guitars. They are Ukuleles hot dang it!!!! We don't need more than 4 strings!!!!!!!!!! Aaaaaaaaaarrrgh......... :p

Are you talking about a 6 string ukulele with the 1st and 3rd doubled, or an 8 string with all double courses? Either way the fingerings are the same and you get a much fuller sound; It is similar to a standard 6 vs 12 string guitar configuration.

How does fingerpicking work? Pluck only one, or both strings? I know that my Charango gas10 strings, but only 1 set is tuned to octaves while the other sets are all unison.

When I pick on my 8 I try to hit both strings. It doesn't always work though.

The real reason is it justifies UAS.
The same goes for High/Low G.
Banjo, soprano,concert, tenor & baritone.
All part of the master plot to make us buy more.
Thank goodness I can keep buying :).

4 strings is enough for me........for now.

Yeah, it's the fuller and different sound... not that I have anything more than 4 strings myself yet. If I were playing with my electric bass-playing husband, it would be an excellent option to plug in with. He's one of those who can do crazy riffs, which would put the strumming in my corner.

Now if we're talking a 6 string that's tuned like a guitar, like the Koaloha D-VI, there are two good reasons: interesting different sound, and it makes it easier for guitar players to pick up. My husband liked what he heard from that little beast very much. He claims he'd play uke if he could sound like Bosko. He's always shied away from uke because he can't be bothered to learn how to play it. Something like the D-VI solves that. And then you get this bonus of a nice and different sound and something else in the arsenal to choose from.