Sound board thickness

narrowuke

Reaction score
Hi,
I hope this isn't one of those continually returned to topics
but I had a few goes in the search function but no joy.
I'm new to Ukulele but not new to lutherie ( I've been building classical guitars and
mandolins for a few years now) and I need to know a ball park figure for soprano and concert sound board thickness made from Sitka spruce.
I don't have any plans so I've just been copying sizes from a couple of cheep ukuleles

I'll post some pictures as I go on.
Thanks and what a great site this is.

Don't know for sure on soprano and concert, but the tenor plans I got from Elderly's say 2-2.4 mm thick.

I shoot for between .070" to .075" for redwood, .060" - .070" for spruce and .055" - .060" for mahogany... all give or take a little depending on how it bends and feels in the hands and how it sounds tapping it as it gets thinner. That's for the ten sopranos that I've made so far. I also "feather" the edges around the lower bout a little bit as i'm shaving the binding down. But I'm pretty new at this so you know.

Last edited:
Why wouldn't you?

Because the normal response out of a guitar builder would be "the qualities associated with softwood tops", but I was just curious if that's what the OP was thinking.

If so, then a Standard or Concert may not be the right size build for certain expectations.

Because the normal response out of a guitar builder would be "the qualities associated with softwood tops", but I was just curious if that's what the OP was thinking.

If so, then a Standard or Concert may not be the right size build for certain expectations.

:agree:

To the OP: It almost sounds like you're planning to make a tiny guitar. I would start by looking for a ukulele that I really liked and then try to copy it as exactly as I could. And then play with the design and dimensions in my next uke.

Last edited: