Got what I wanted for Christmas, but should I exchange it?

mrplanters

Reaction score
I'm 16, and for Christmas, I finally got a ukulele. Its the Lanikai LU- 11. Its good, and Im proud to say that I know how to play 'Come Together' (learned from Ukulele Underground of course! :D) but was wondering if It might be a good idea to just go ahead and upgrade, already, to mabye the LU- 21C (or some other concert uke). I know the basic differences (length, sound, etc.), but wanted some other peoples opinions.

P.S. How long should a ukulele stay in tune? From my standpoint, the LU- 11 doenst seem to hold it that long, even after I tightened the screws on the back. Anything else I could do?

Keep playing it to break the strings in they will keep stretching for awhile...
Upgrading is up to you.. One can never have too many ukes though...

Hey Mr Planters and welcome to UU! Congrats on the present, this is my 2 pence as im still new to the uke myself but from what i can tell its the soprano/concert size thats different? If it were me, I would keep the LU 11 (unless you dont like playing on the smaller size) - if you like playing the uke, (which it sounds like you do- looking to upgrade already!) i would keep playing yours and save to trade it in/ even better- buy another! (search for UAS on here lol) for a upgrade i.e. a solid wood uke as that seems the best next step from the advice ive seen here on UU from more wise ukers than me! P.s. Clip on tuners are great to help with the stretchy period, plus if you keep it on whilst playing ive found it helps identify what chords ur playing! (acknowledgements to the UU'ers whose advice i have regurgitated :) )

Welcome to UU, mrplanters!

Like fitncrafty said, it takes time for strings to break in and stop stretching. That is normal.