Strings wont stay in tune for long

UkeTom

Reaction score
Aloha!
I got a ukulele for my birthday (about a month ago) and didnt have a tuner. So i bought a tuner and now im having a question concerning my strings.
The uke came with these black nylon strings and they dont seem to stay in tune for long. I heard some people saying they'd have to tune their ukes once a day, but mine seems to be out of tune after like 1 hour :/
Is that normal ? if not what can/should i do?
sry if this is a dumb question but since im a "beginner" i have no idea how to deal with this :)

Hi UkeTom, sorry about your situation. I'm a newbie too so I won't give you my ignorant opinion. I'll suggest that you reply with the kind of uke you have, the experts will be able to give better advice knowing the quality, make and model of your instrument. Good luck:)
DAP

The black nylon strings many ukes come with are GHS and it is pretty normal for them. I have tried them on several ukes and can't stand them! Change them out with a set of Aquila's or Worth's, they will vastly improve the sound and playability of your uke. Keep in mind all uke strings stretch like mad for the first week or so and it's normal to have to tune them regularly at first.

Most likely it is your nylon strings stretching. Flourocarbons (Worth, Blacklines) and Aquilas all stretch when new, but do seem to settle in.
Nylon is much more sensitive to temperature and climate changes.
You don't say what kind of tuners are on your ukulele, but they can also be a source of the tuning issue.
If you have friction tuners make sure the set screw is tight enough to keep them from slipping, but loose enough to allow for tuning.
Another thing to check is the wraps on the tuning post. If your strings have streched enough you may have some overlaps. You should have only 2-3 wraps and the string needs to be on the post.
If you are confused ask a shop or a ukulele player who has the experiance for help.