Holding a Ukulele While standing up

oxyvince

Reaction score
hi i'm not new to ukulele but i am new to ukuleleunderground :)

I'm completely fine with holding the ukulele when sitting down but when i'm standing up... my ukulele always slips.. which is very frustrating for me

for my left hand position, my thumb is usually on the neck of the ukulele, not curled over where its widely visible (am i holding it correctly?)

but when im changing chords, my ukulele almost always slips!

for example, if i switch to a E minor to a D minor, my ukulele slips :(

thank you in advance :D

Those uke leashes look really nice. That's what I'll end up getting.

to be honest, i dont really want to get a ukulele strap :(

i was just wondering how so many people play without a strap while standing??

to be honest, i dont really want to get a ukulele strap :(

i was just wondering how so many people play without a strap while standing??

You squeeze the uke to your body with your forearm and/or hold it up with your fingers - it's not easy - at least not for me. =)

You squeeze the uke to your body with your forearm and/or hold it up with your fingers - it's not easy - at least not for me. =)

Also try some skin to wood contact!! Bare forearm is the only way for me....I suppose the Hawiaans have it easy with a year round warm climate. The rest of us just have to wait for summer to roll around to get some clothing off.

Cheers

maybe a stupid q, but can u put a strap on any uke? does it involve any sort of uke mutilation? :eek:

Most regular straps would need at least one strap button installed on the butt end of the uke (many straps come with a string or shoelace that you can tie to the headstock for hold up the neck).

Lori (one of our own UU members!!!) invented the Uke Leash which I use for a couple of my ukes with no strap buttons. I like it a lot.