String and nut question.

phoenix.stu

Reaction score
String and nut question / EDIT: New problem

Maybe I am just being paranoid or just a big fat newbie. LOL. Anyway, as you know I just got my first uke and I am still learning certain things.
I have recently noticed that the C string seems to ring out louder and longer than the rest of my strings so I started looking at it a bit since(to me) it didn't sound quite right(as in different than the others). The tone and all seems fine just what I noticed is where the strings sit on the nut. The GEA sits somewhat flush however, the C string does not(it somewhat protrudes above the nut). I was wondering if this was the cause in what I was describing above or if this was normal.

Here is a pic, so that you can see. Sorry if it is big. I just wanted you to see what I was describing. I am curious if I should worry about this and/or take it back to have it fixed?

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you

dsc00127fm2.jpg

Last edited:
You're C string is the heaviest (and lowest tension), so it's going to have the most resonance. You're nut should be fine, as the C has to sit higher to have the same fret clearance as the rest of the strings due to the greater diameter of the string.

Two thoughts:

1. You may need to adjust the way you're striking the strings with your right hand (not a criticism, just a thought). You may be primarily hitting the lower strings (G,C) and coming off before your strum through the rest. I might suggest slowly strumming a C chord and vary the way you attack the strings with your right hand (angles, pressure, etc.) so see what works.

2. I'm assuming that the instrument in your signature is the one in the close up shot...in which case it's a G-String. :) You should call/email the guys at G-String with any concerns. I hear their customer service is fabulous.

-John

Good point. I will definitely take a closer look at the way I strum. No criticism taken. I am a total newb.